Forcing https

Moderator: Site Moderator

Forcing https

Postby Uncle Jesse » Sun Jan 28, 2018 12:01 am

I've enabled "forced" https.

This redirects every session to encrypted https.

I see a slight slowdown but not enough to anger me.

Anyone having issues with this? Let me know here. Obviously, I believe we all benefit from encrypted https sessions.
If only the best birds sang, the woods would be silent.
User avatar
Uncle Jesse
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3300
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 3:00 pm

Re: Forcing https

Postby Bvritr » Sun Jan 28, 2018 1:34 am

didnt notice a slow down at all, on my phone
Bvritr
Novice
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 11:51 pm
Location: Pacific Islands

Re: Forcing https

Postby fizzix » Sun Jan 28, 2018 4:47 am

Maybe it's my browser (MS Edge) but I notice some, only some, topics through HD Google Search come up with a Spectrum window.
For instance, a search for ShineonCrazyDiamond's Sundae Chocolate Bourbon through HD Google Search displays:

bbb.jpg

You can still get there through the Spectrum link, but it's just strange. Not all HD Google searches do this, just some.
User avatar
fizzix
Site Donor
Site Donor
 
Posts: 1932
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 4:08 pm

Re: Forcing https

Postby bilgriss » Sun Jan 28, 2018 5:36 am

I tried to post a couple hints last night about how to redirect via headers, but it didn't take. In any case, I think that it's still faster than it was prior to the move, and everything seems to be behaving normally for me this morning.
Many thanks.
User avatar
bilgriss
Site Donor
Site Donor
 
Posts: 976
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 2:28 pm
Location: Southeast.

Re: Forcing https

Postby Bushman » Sun Jan 28, 2018 6:47 am

Seemed super fast last night but this morning had some difficulty doing some administrative stuff but that could be from this end as I am at our condo and the Internet provider isn't as good.
User avatar
Bushman
Global moderator
 
Posts: 13007
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:29 am
Location: Pacific Northwest

Re: Forcing https

Postby Expat » Sun Jan 28, 2018 7:32 am

Page load times seems to be about the same now as when site moved. Still really fast! :thumbup: :thumbup:

Edit: Ironically, posting this message took forever (7+ seconds) arg :problem:
_____________________
EXPAT

Current boiler and pot head
https://homedistiller.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=71855
____________________
User avatar
Expat
Site Donor
Site Donor
 
Posts: 653
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 3:58 pm

Re: Forcing https

Postby Uncle Jesse » Sun Jan 28, 2018 11:38 am

I'm still tinkering and experimenting so if you have weird behavior, it may be me testing something and should go away quickly. Hopefully :wave:
If only the best birds sang, the woods would be silent.
User avatar
Uncle Jesse
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3300
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 3:00 pm

Re: Forcing https

Postby cede » Sun Jan 28, 2018 11:40 am

Working fine here !
I first had troubles but cleared the whole cache and now goes too fast for my poor internet access :)
User avatar
cede
Site Donor
Site Donor
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 6:39 am
Location: Canada

Re: Forcing https

Postby nerdybrewer » Sun Jan 28, 2018 12:56 pm

Thanks so much Uncle J.
I ran a fairly robust gaming site for a decade back in the day so I know a little about what you are going through.
Just wanted you to know it's appreciated!
Cranky's spoonfeeding:
http://homedistiller.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=52975

Time and Oak will sort it out.
User avatar
nerdybrewer
Site Donor
Site Donor
 
Posts: 1196
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 3:00 pm
Location: Pacific Northwest

Re: Forcing https

Postby shadylane » Sun Jan 28, 2018 4:35 pm

Uncle Jesse wrote:I've enabled "forced" https....
...Anyone having issues with this?

Uncle Jesse, I haven't a clue what enabling "forced" https means :oops:
Obviously, for the good of all of us, it's good thing you do. :lol:
User avatar
shadylane
Site Donor
Site Donor
 
Posts: 5676
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 11:54 pm
Location: Hiding In the Boiler room of the Insane asylum

Re: Forcing https

Postby Uncle Jesse » Sun Jan 28, 2018 5:36 pm

shadylane wrote:
Uncle Jesse wrote:I've enabled "forced" https....
...Anyone having issues with this?

Uncle Jesse, I haven't a clue what enabling "forced" https means :oops:
Obviously, for the good of all of us, it's good thing you do. :lol:


https is encrypted traffic. So basically I'm forcing every connection to be encrypted.
If only the best birds sang, the woods would be silent.
User avatar
Uncle Jesse
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3300
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 3:00 pm

Re: Forcing https

Postby Expat » Sun Jan 28, 2018 6:32 pm

In the near future, browsers like Chrome and Firefox will start to flag all webpages NOT secured with HTTPS; too many security issues.

Making this change now is quite screwed I think :thumbup:
_____________________
EXPAT

Current boiler and pot head
https://homedistiller.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=71855
____________________
User avatar
Expat
Site Donor
Site Donor
 
Posts: 653
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 3:58 pm


Return to Announcements



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests