Maple syrup run

Many like to post about a first successful ferment (or first all grain mash), or first still built/bought or first good run of the still. Tell us about all of these great times here.
Pics are VERY welcome, we drool over pretty copper 8)

Moderator: Site Moderator

dswks
Novice

Maple syrup run

Post by dswks »

Hi all. I wanted to share my first (and last) experiment using maple syrup as a sugar. I've been small batch distilling for the past 4 or 5 years, mostly running traditional corn/rye blends, so I'm not a total novice. I have a small, (20 qt) home made single stage pot still (no doubler), made from stainless steel, lead free brass, and copper.

I was given 5 quarts of dark amber maple syrup this spring. I saved 1 quart for pancakes, and used a gallon for distilling. I've been told that 1 gallon of syrup equals 5 lbs of sugar, so my wash was 1 gallon of syrup, @ 4 gallons of distilled water, and a packet of champagne yeast. It worked off extremely slowly for about 10 weeks! Mid way through that time, in an effort to speed things up, I aerated the wash by pouring it through a sieve, and added a little more yeast, but there was no detectable change in the rate of fermentation. While it was plodding along, I ran a traditional batch of corn, and a run of mulberry brandy, which both turned out well.