First Mash and could use advise

Many like to post about a first successful ferment (or first all grain mash), or first still built/bought or first good run of the still. Tell us about all of these great times here.
Pics are VERY welcome, we drool over pretty copper 8)

Moderator: Site Moderator

AZJarhead
Novice

First Mash and could use advise

Post by AZJarhead »

I am a beginner running my first batch of mash and trying to be patient. The mash is just water/sugar/yeast.
After reading a couple books and a lot of information online, I am not sure of a couple things.

My mash mixture is 5Gal of water, 14lbs of sugar and 1 package of Alcotec 48 pure Turbo Yeast.
- I heated up 4gal of water to 95deg, added the sugar and mixed until it melted.
- Let it cool to 80deg, I added another gal of water and mixed in the yeast slowly.
- With 2 - 5Gal buckets I poured it back and forth, and then left equal amounts in each bucket.
- Put a lid on the buckets, 1 being a fermenting bucket and 1 with a small hole in the lid.

In what I have read, some put on lids and some use a net to cover the bucket. So after 5 days I put a net over my buckets vice the lids. I have stirred the mash twice a day the entire time. When I stir it now it still foams up a good amount while stirring. I can still smell the odor of bread baking, but it does not taste sweet. Can taste yeast and then some alcohol with it being cloudy and an off yellow.

Started mash 10days ago
Mash has been at 70deg the entire time of fermenting

Questions;
Did I use too much sugar?
Which is better, lid or a net while fermenting?
How do I know it is ready to distill?

Any and All advise would be greatly appreciated.
Deplorable
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: First Mash and could use advise

Post by Deplorable »