First Mile High Flute Run

Many like to post about a first successful ferment (or first all grain mash), or first still built/bought or first good run of the still. Tell us about all of these great times here.
Pics are VERY welcome, we drool over pretty copper 8)

Moderator: Site Moderator

oksofar
Site Donor
Site Donor

First Mile High Flute Run

Post by oksofar »

IMG_9986.jpg
After encouraging results using an air still for a month, I went all-in on a Mile High four section, 4" stainless flute still and hose kit.  I elected to have the down-comer plate option, and added the pressure relief safety valve.  I am a total newb, have no "mentor", and have learned everything online (mostly, this forum!) and from a couple of books.  I just ran my first sugar wash today (after vinegar cleaning), and produced an amazingly clean spirit.  I added quick detach hose fittings and ball valves to control cooling. The water came from a 10 gallon cooler that I refreshed with cold water every 15 minutes. Lesson learned: brush silver "anti-seize" on the T-clamp threads to achieve a smoother tightening. Thanks to all who contribute to the information sharing on this forum!
Last edited by oksofar on Mon Feb 22, 2021 5:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Brewer's Beast 16 gallon mash tun
Spike CF15 Conical Unitank 
Mile Hi 16 Gallon Stainless 4 Inch Flute – 4 Sections
30xs
Swill Maker

Re: First Mile High Flute Run

Post by 30xs »

If it’s your very first after the vinegar cleaning hopefully it was a “clean” smelling sacrificial run. The first alcohol run is also a cleaning run and shouldn’t be drank. Congrats on the successful start with your new rig.

Tim
oksofar
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by oksofar »

30xs wrote: Mon Feb 22, 2021 5:52 pm If it’s your very first after the vinegar cleaning ... shouldn’t be drank.