My first.. Time hitting azeo...

Many like to post about a first successful ferment (or first all grain mash), or first still built/bought or first good run of the still. Tell us about all of these great times here.
Pics are VERY welcome, we drool over pretty copper 8)

Moderator: Site Moderator

SomethingObscure
Bootlegger

My first.. Time hitting azeo...

Post by SomethingObscure »

Well I'm still very new to this hobby and learning everyday, I've done 17 spirit runs now mostly rum but one all grain angle yeast(AGAY). And this was my 4th neutral run. Today I got the benchmark that is azeo.

Not that it that number means much (especially because I'm sure my alcohometer isn't super accurate), i've been learning to drive my CCVM for a few weeks now, to start I reran my sac run several time adjusting little things each time. But couldn't seem to get above 94%. I was getting a real variation on the max power before I got flooding. On this run I removed all the copper mesh having already used it for the stripping runs. This allowed the sintered glass balls to drain more freely. I thought I could breath easily though the column with the mesh but I just couldn't get the power up to the levels I was expecting without flooding

So now I have about 1.3m of sintered glass balls about pea sized, held up by a copper cage. I can run my 3" column at about 2650w RMS without flooding. And take product at just over 4.5l per hour.

But I guess as always the proof is in the tasting.

Thanks everyone for getting me here

SomethingObscure
boomstick
Novice

Re: My first.. Time hitting azeo...

Post by boomstick »

Sounds cool, what kind of sintered glass balls are you using? I've only tried scrubbies so far but dont really like handeling them. Do you have a product link?
SomethingObscure
Bootlegger

boomstick wrote:Sounds cool, what kind of sintered glass balls are you using? I've only tried scrubbies so far but dont really like handeling them. Do you have a product link?
Hi broomstick,