My first still

Many like to post about a first successful ferment (or first all grain mash), or first still built/bought or first good run of the still. Tell us about all of these great times here.
Pics are VERY welcome, we drool over pretty copper 8)

Moderator: Site Moderator

LeslieTx
Novice

My first still

Post by LeslieTx »

PXL_20211126_133151270.jpg
I've been brewing beer for over ten years and started thinking about making the step to distillation last year at the start of the lock-downs. I began reading this forum and others on the net. I made my list of parts and tools need to build from scratch and had them in my cart on Amazon. Before I placed the order I checked out E bay and found these 30L Chinese stills for less than half the price it was going to cost to build. At that time they were going for about $160. I procrastinated and never ordered.

Recently, with that talk of inflation, I decided to check on them and go ahead and buy. The prices on Amazon parts had greatly increased, if available. The Chinese still I had place in my cart last May was going for a $211. I searched around and found one for $180, so I placed the order. I think it will be a good starter for me.

It is actually thicker than I thought it would be, but it is a pain to put together by one person. It came with a small submersible pump and hydrometer; of course, the hydrometer was broken.No big deal. A couple for the clamps that hold the lid down seem a little slack. I'll probably have to bend them and tinker around to get a good seal. I'm going to run a water test later today. Followed by a run with Vinegar/Water.

I quick question. When distilling a wash, I'm guessing that the still never gets up to 212 degrees. So, If I run it with just water, should I let it get hot enough for water to come over?
Oatmeal
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: My first still

Post by Oatmeal »