Huffing below boiling temp

This hobby is fun & enjoyable, but it is not tiddlywinks. Be safe!

Moderator: Site Moderator

Micmac
Novice

Huffing below boiling temp

Post by Micmac »

Hi all,

Total novice here, learning much on the site! Did my first run the other day which I will call a hybrid stripping run. I’ve run my reflux still (mile-hi 3” torpedo) in both reflux and pot still mode with water and all ran well. First alcohol wash I wanted to see if I could lower the length of the column by taking out some sections and reduce packing to make it more pot still worthy. Everything went great with slow rise temp. Toward the end of the run I wanted to see if I raised the heat like I guess I would if I would a pure stripping so cranked the power to the element a bit. Over 205F in the boiler I started to see the discharge product warming with some huffing. I turned the heat down a bit and all was good. Water flow to the condenser was constant and water discharge seemed cool. Question I have is did I just overpower the condenser? Did my shortening the column effect the performance? Was the vapor velocity just too fast? If I put more copper packing in the column would that be of benifit? Of note it was very cold when I was distilling around 38F. Would that have any impact. Trying to make sure things don’t go boom!
ShineRunner
Swill Maker

Re: Huffing below boiling temp

Post by ShineRunner »

This has been discussed many times on here. Check the HD google search out. There’s a link in my signature.

Short answer is twofold. First, is that your still will act differently when condensing alcohol. Secondly, you’re overcooling the vapor. Your condenser discharge water should be hot as it exits.

Try the HD google search for more details.

SR
Saltbush Bill
Site Mod

Post by Saltbush Bill »

Micmac wrote: Over 205F in the boiler I started to see the discharge product warming with some huffing. I turned the heat down a bit and all was good.