I am a Newbie.

Putting older posts here. Going to try to keep the novice forum pruned about 90 days work. The 'good' old stuff is going to be put into appropriate forums.

Moderator: Site Moderator

olddog
retired

I am a Newbie.

Post by olddog »

I am a Newbie. I have just put down my first UJSM. I first dissolved my sugar in boiling water, added my corn, topped up to the required quantity of water reducing the temperature to 26 degrees C, then sprinked my yeast, it seems to be bubbling away, about 2 bubbles per second and has been like this from the start, no volcanic eruptions. Is this going to be OK?

Secondly, I only have an "Still Sprits Air Still" which is basicaly a electrically heated 4litre tub with a condensing coil in the lid with an inbuilt fan for cooling. I have no way to measure temperature, or varying heat, to do stripping runs, it will only distill one way which results in about one drip per second. Will I be able to get a result with this? or am I wasting my time?
OLD DOG LEARNING NEW TRICKS ......
junkyard dawg
Master of Distillation

Re: I am a Newbie.

Post by junkyard dawg »

I don't think your wasting your time...

learn, learn, learn...

Lots of folks here have those... I'm sure you will get some good advice here. welcome and good luck.

sounds like your ferment is ok....

(I can't believe I'm gonna recommend this, but try a turbo yeast, just to learn. Thats what the still spirit is designed around... You can always take what you learn and apply it to making a corn likker.)
this is the internet
rad14701
retired

Post by rad14701 »