Hot pepper wine/shine

Information about fruit/vegetable type washes.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Just 4 Fun
Novice

Hot pepper wine/shine

Post by Just 4 Fun »

I’m sure this may have been covered elsewhere in the multitude of pages here but thought I’d share a recipe I found and am currently fermenting for myself as an experiment.

Of course I did not follow the recipe to a “T” but it’s bubbling along happily non the less.

Very curious how this will turn out as I’m not so much interested in infusions but more flavours achieved with a pot still.

As this is my first try I figured I’d put it here instead of the “tried and true” section

B7D85454-25CD-4A25-91A0-06A7EA9E637C.png
Last edited by Just 4 Fun on Thu Mar 26, 2020 7:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Just because it's called a liver doesn't mean it lives forever.
NZChris
Master of Distillation

Re: Hot pepper wine/shine

Post by NZChris »

I hope you left out the Campden Tablet. SO2 can be a bitch to get rid of.
Just 4 Fun
Novice

Post by Just 4 Fun »

I typically do 23L ferments with 4kg sugar as a constant, for this one I used a mix of jalapeño and Serrano peppers as that was all I could find in the shops right now.

Basically as follows

-1lb each of the peppers (2 pounds or 1kg total)
-4kg sugar
-1table spoon lemon juice
-bread yeast
-20L clean water

I boiled the cut up peppers in 4L of water for about 1/2 hr and dumped in the fermenter

Boiled another 4L water then added lemon juice and sugar off the heat to dissolved, return to the heat and simmer for 1/2hr to invert the sugar and dump that in the fermenter

Top it off with the remaining 12L water and pitch the yeast when it cools below 30*c

Put it together last night and it’s bubbling along happily already and smells.......well peppery.

3BA7508D-F9B2-40CA-BAEC-0D6B2842BF8A.jpeg
Bryan1
Swill Maker

Post by Bryan1 »