Making Slivo (slivovitz) for the first time and also distilling HELP!

Information about fruit/vegetable type washes.

Moderator: Site Moderator

foofykid
Novice

Making Slivo (slivovitz) for the first time and also distilling HELP!

Post by foofykid »

Hi Everyone,

So this will be my first time distilling anything and yes I know ive been told that fruits are harder to do. I am Serbian and that’s the choice of drink we like, unfortunately I did have a Grandparent that made it the best, but he passed away before I was old enough to learn. I have some question and hopefully this place can help me. Overview is that I bought 5 bushels of plums about 5 weeks ago and they have been fermenting since, just noticed all the fruit had dropped yesterday so this weekend we are planning on distilling. My questions are as follows:

1. Should I remove the stones before distilling? I see a lot of going back and forth for when you are fermenting but not during distilling.
2. Since I am a noob at distill how am I going to tell when the head is the heart and tails? Can you go by ABV%?
3. By what ive been reading I should stay around 175f-202f temp?

What do you all think I will yield after all is said and done?

Thank you for anyone that can help!!
still_stirrin
Master of Distillation
Location: where the buffalo roam, and the deer & antelope play

Re: Making Slivo (slivovitz) for the first time and also distilling HELP!

Post by still_stirrin »

Start with a simple brandy. Get some wine and distill it in your potstill. Learn to make cuts from something with a little less “sweat equity”. Then, when you know how to distill and make cuts, you can try the plum recipe.

A couple of suggestions tho: 1) don’t include the stones, and 2) don’t use sugar.

I’ve posted a couple of recipe threads already in your welcome thread. Go back there and read them.
ss
My LM/VM & Potstill: My build thread
My Cadco hotplate modification thread: Hotplate Build
My stock pot gin still: stock pot potstill