Peach Brandy from peach puree

Information about fruit/vegetable type washes.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Boda Getta
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by Boda Getta »

I have been home distilling about 12 years and have always wanted to try a peach brandy, I have been unable to find an affordable source of peaches for this project. I have recently found a source of peach (and other fruits) puree on the 'net (https://asepticfruitpurees.com) and are looking for input. I am looking at their 44 lb pouch for the project and the web page claims that the puree is pasteurized and contains asorbic acid but no p reservations. They list the Brix -16-18 ph at 3.40-4.10, acidity at .50-.90 and texture as thick. I have no experience with fruits and need some help. Do you guys think it will work. I would double run in a pot still and add some tails and late heads back and try to pick up peach favor (I do have have a thumber). I would try and not add favor. The 44 Lb pouch is $76 (ouch) and would need to maximize the out-put at that price. I don't have a handle on how much water to add/gal- /pound. and would love to end up with 30 ish gals of wash (must?) and do 2 stripping runs.

Any advice, experiences, suggestions, etc greatly appreciated. Thanking you guys in advance for any help.

Boda Getta
Boda Getta
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by Boda Getta »