Making nutritional yeast in large quantities?

These little beasts do all the hard work. Share how to keep 'em happy and working hard.

Moderator: Site Moderator

zhai
Novice

Making nutritional yeast in large quantities?

Post by zhai »

Hi, I'm new to fermenting and brewing, and one of the things I would like to find out is whether it would be possible to make large quantities of yeast to dry and eat as a nutritional supplement. I've looked around, but I haven't been able to find a "recipe" that fits my needs completely, or probably I just don't have enough knowledge to assess whether existing recipes would fit this goal. E.g., most of the recipes add flour, and I'd like to avoid that.

I'm buying it at the moment and using relatively large amounts of it, so I'm thinking that if I could make it myself at an acceptable quality, and also get a bunch of CO2 for my indoor herb garden at the same time, that would be very nice!

I imagine one of the challenges would be to avoid getting all kinds of nasties into the yeast?

I'd like to grow the yeast using molasses (animal feed quality), so my current "recipe suggestion" looks like this:

water
molasses
bread yeast
tomato paste
aeration with an airstone connected to an aquarium pump

I'm guessing I should also measure the pH and keep it around 5.5?

Am I on the right track here, or should I do something completely different?
FuelMaker
Swill Maker

Re: Making nutritional yeast in large quantities?

Post by FuelMaker »

I've considered it myself - mainly with an eye towards using it as a emergency food supply.

I'm certainly no fermentation expert but what you have in mind for nutrients sounds good, I would add a post-fermentation step though: washing. Wash the yeast to remove all the non-fermentables out of it and then dry and bake it. The yeast needs to be killed before consumption or you're going to have tummy problems.