Four Roses Video on Yeast Affect on Flavor

These little beasts do all the hard work. Share how to keep 'em happy and working hard.

Moderator: Site Moderator

WIski
Site Donor
Site Donor

Four Roses Video on Yeast Affect on Flavor

Post by WIski »

Short, not real detailed or informative, but entertaining.

http://whiskyadvocate.com/yeast-impacts-flavor-bourbon/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow
fizzix
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: Four Roses Video on Yeast Affect on Flavor

Post by fizzix »

Never gave much credence to different yeasts until I started brewing beer. It's a religion in that realm.
That led me to recently start fermenting Booner's (nice & cheap & easily repeatable) with different yeast I have on hand.
I've just started, so have no firm impressions*. But the idea is to compare and decide whether to blend, or to pick an outstanding best for barreling.
EC-1118 is currently bubbling in the bull pen. It's a cooler ferment, so that is an impending factor too.

Thanks for the video. It's outright encouraging for my current endeavor.

*Not much difference -if any- so far between baker's yeast and DADY. More exotic yeasts to come.
durty_dunderpants
Novice

Post by durty_dunderpants »

i been brewing ale long enough to worship at the church of the yeast.. :D

i've made rum with both bread yeast and selected ale yeast slurries. difference in distillate is night or day in favour of the ale yeasts. that's not to say that a more experienced distiller than me can't make a better drink than me with bread yeast at all, just that paying attention to and managing the yeast does make a noticeable and worthwhile difference to the end product. but then i imagine 20% turbo yeast washes have already taught many that lesson on the other end of the spectrum!!
kiwi Bruce
Distiller

Post by kiwi Bruce »