Cloudy after aging!!!! HELP!!!

Treatment and handling of your distillate.

Moderator: Site Moderator

KNatalia
Novice

Cloudy after aging!!!! HELP!!!

Post by KNatalia »

I have been distilling for about 5 years, my last batch of rum, made in november 2020 was set on barrel staves at 150proof in a 1 gallon glass pickling jar, placed in a cabinet to age. about 2 weeks ago i took the wood out and added filtered water to bring it to 80proof and last night when i went to make a few sample bottles for friends i found that it had gotten very cloudy. When i added the water it was a beautiful Golden Red color. I have done the same thing several times and never encountered this. Has anyone else seen this happen? Im at a Loss please help!!
LWTCS
Site Mod

Re: Cloudy after aging!!!! HELP!!!

Post by LWTCS »

Sure.
It's why over proof is so popular with producers. Higher abv minimizes the likelihood of that happening. Less material handling, more shelf stable....

Since you say this is the first time, perhaps you ran that batch too aggressively? So more strict cuts can minimize this too.

Or maybe your water quality has changed?

Try chilling for several days and see if the cloudiness will fall out of suspension. A straight cylindrical vessel with a wider mouth will more easily allow you pour off the clear without disrupting the settled jellyfish.
Trample the injured and hurdle the dead.
KNatalia
Novice

Post by KNatalia »

ive done this rum recipe many times, on this batch in particular i ran it slow pot still style and stopped collecting around when it hit 25% - im not greedy. it smells and taste fine, I will try chilling it and see what happens. I have another gallon of the same batch still ageing and it is clear golden red. Thanks for the advice! i am very cautious about making something that is not safe!!!
still_stirrin
Master of Distillation
Location: where the buffalo roam, and the deer & antelope play

Post by still_stirrin »