what does "young" whiskey taste like?

Treatment and handling of your distillate.

Moderator: Site Moderator

distill_smith
Novice

what does "young" whiskey taste like?

Post by distill_smith »

I have corn based whiskey that has been twiced distilled and 0.75 oz (whole piece) of charred white oak added per quart (glass mason jar) and aged for four months. I am just beginning to sample it. It seems to have a fairly good flavor, except something in the finish is kind of harsh (I don't really know else to describe it). Is this the youngness of it, or something else, how do I tell? The jars have been sealed for the whole time, should I be venting it in some way ? Thanks
Sporacle
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: what does "young" whiskey taste like?

Post by Sporacle »

Young whiskey tastes harsh, could be heads, could be a stage of the aging process (the flavour seems to change a bit in the early stages) I give mine a shake and open them up every once in a while.
Make something else and forget about tasting it for another 8 months :D
" you can pick your nose and you can pick your friends; but you can't always wipe your friends off on your saddle" sage advice from Kinky Friedman
Saltbush Bill
Site Mod

Post by Saltbush Bill »

Let it breath a bit from time to time.
8Ball
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by 8Ball »

I leave my lids a little loose with a coffee filter. I also cut a little groove in my corks for air exchange.
🎱 The struggle is real and this rabbit hole just got interesting.
Per a conversation I had with Mr. Jay Gibbs regarding white oak barrel staves: “…you gotta get it burning good.”
distill_smith
Novice

Post by distill_smith »

I had been considering drilling a small hole in the lids and covering with a couple of layers of micropore tape
Sporacle
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by Sporacle »

Or just open the lid from time to time, saves your jar :thumbup: