Can't get it to start?

Sugar, and all about sugar washes. Where the primary ingredient is sugar, and other things are just used as nutrients.

Moderator: Site Moderator

NJen
Swill Maker

Can't get it to start?

Post by NJen »

So I've been making sugar washes for a few months now, and haven't really had any problems with them until recently.

I usually do a 5 gallon batch at a time. I use 12 pounds of sugar, 1 pound of rasins, and water to 5 gal. Produces approx 15.5% alcohol.

Generally I have no problem with them fermenting, but the last 3 batches in a row that I have done, they have not even started. They are producing CO2 like mad, so I know SOMETHING is happening, but after almost 72 hours, the specific gravity has not changed even .1 point. Can't seem to find anyone with my exact problem just searching, so I thought I might post and see if I could get any help.

I am using a DADY yeast from Red Star, same yeast I have been using for the longest time. I bought a pound of it back in July and am still using it. It's not close to the experation date, so I'm sure that's not it..

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated. Would hate for my washes to go bad waiting on them.
still_stirrin
Master of Distillation
Location: where the buffalo roam, and the deer & antelope play

Re: Can't get it to start?

Post by still_stirrin »

Is the yeast still viable?

Make a starter with a 1.040 gravity wash and see if it starts. Your yeast may be old.
ss
My LM/VM & Potstill: My build thread
My Cadco hotplate modification thread: Hotplate Build
My stock pot gin still: stock pot potstill
My 5-grain Bourbon recipe: Special K
still_stirrin
Master of Distillation

Post by still_stirrin »

Have you been using yeast nutrients in your sugar washes?

Did you aerate the wash before pitching yeast?

What's the temperature where your fermenter is?
ss
still_stirrin
Master of Distillation

Post by still_stirrin »

Here's something else to think about...