First Observations - feedback please

A MUST READ FORUM Place where new distillers can read many of the important documents that help introduce them to distilling. This is a read-only forum.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Damifino
Novice

First Observations - feedback please

Post by Damifino »

Complete noob at distilling. Haven't even made beer (yet). So that's the benchmark.

Santa delivered a MH 8gal reflux/pot kit after Christmas so this morning I ran 50/50 vinegar/water cleaning run in pot-still mode. Has an internal electric heating element (2000w) with power controller. The power controller is basic with a min/max dial selector. I believe it works on duty cycle rather than regulated power. At any rate, it performed extremely well along with everything from MH.

Took roughly 50 mins to heat 5 gals to vapor/condensing. Ran the vinegar/water for about an hour and a half at a near steady stream output. Disassembled cleaned everything.

Sacrificial run - purchased some extremely cheap box red wine @ $6/3liter box. 7 boxes = 21 liters roughly 5.5 gals. 13.5% alcohol. Tested it with the hydrometer. Looked about right. Roughly 95 oz of available alcohol in the wash.

55 minutes to reach vapor/condensing temp. Again running in pot-still mode. This time I turned the temp back as soon as the head temp crossed 95°. Was very surprised how fast it reaches temp once vapor reaches the top of the riser.

Running a standard liebig condenser with coolant water driven by an aquarium pump. Ice water from a fermentation bucket. Worked great. Ran a steady drip, slow enough to never stream.

Output:
Roughly 5 hours of run time from start of drip
Ran 15 8 ounce jars + a little.
Output began at 168° head temp, ended @ 201°
8oz. Foreshots (nasty) @154 proof
Final 8 oz ran @ 82 proof (bitter)
Total run of 122oz. Averaging 121 proof.
Total alcohol extracted 73.8 oz (of 95 available)
77.6% of available alcohol extracted.

Flavor: