Upgrading my setup copper vs. stainless

A MUST READ FORUM Place where new distillers can read many of the important documents that help introduce them to distilling. This is a read-only forum.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Copperman85
Novice

Upgrading my setup copper vs. stainless

Post by Copperman85 »

I’ve been using the claw hammer 10 gal copper still kit for a few years. I’m to the point where I want to up the volume and quality in my set up, keeping everything as efficient as possible while maximizing quality. My thought is to get the copper and build a 30 gallon traditional style Kentucky pot still with a 10 gallon thumper (copper) I will be using the New 30 gallon still for my strip runs. My thought is to use an old 55 gallon steel drum to use as a water heater to submerge the boiler into. I’m doing AG mashes So I want to be able to put the solids in the boiler and prevent scorching. I’d eventually like to take a stab at absinthe . My friend builds water heaters for the semiconductor industry so the water heater is not a problem. My question is; would it be better and more cost-effective to build the 30 gallon boiler out of stainless steel to do the strip runs? having the 10 gallon thumper with a fruit port to infuse flavors in the strip run? Then, I will use the old claw hammer 10 gallon still for my spirit runs. Packing mesh into the column for the final spirit run. Can you have too much copper? I’m not interested in making neutral spirits I want full flavor all grain whiskeys. Is it best to infuse flavors in the thumper for brandy’s in the strip run or spirit run?
acfixer69
Global moderator

Re: Upgrading my setup copper vs. stainless

Post by acfixer69 »

This post is all over the place and not to a point so I'll address one question. The 55 gallon drum with 30 gallon smirgeged in it with water is a fail unless at a psi I wouldn't recomend as a homedistiller. Oil maybe. Just don't see this as a good plan.
SassyFrass
Distiller