Ethanol Fuel from Corn - Bigger Scale

Alcohol is an inexpensive, clean and renewable fuel source.

Moderator: Site Moderator

cornfarmer
Novice

Ethanol Fuel from Corn - Bigger Scale

Post by cornfarmer »

Okay, time for my fist ever post... be kind. I've recently started toying with the idea of making my own ethanol fuel since I'm a corn farmer in Iowa(50k+ bushels). I was hoping you guys could give me your input on my ideas and your ideal setup if you were looking to get a bigger (1000+ gallon) scale fuel setup.

Okay, to start off with a little info. I have tons of free time and if I have to do it in a 100 batches that wouldn't be optimal but I could make it work. I want to do it as cheaply as possible, I don't mind making an initial investment as long as it'll pay in the long run. I have tons of space so that isn't an issue. I'll be feeding my leftover dried distillers grains to my chicken herd so efficiency in alcohol content per batch isn't as high up on the priority list, once I get really start producing DDGs in mass I could get cattle or hogs to eat it up.