Soldering

Post your builds here.

Moderator: Site Moderator

gmm213
Novice

Soldering

Post by gmm213 »

So I decided to throw this here. Couldn't decide if it fit anywhere better. I am wondering about soldering. I am building a keg with 5500w heating element. I was going to solder the copper adapter to the SS keg. I have never done soldering like this before. I have soldered many many electrical components and welded various metals together. Can anyone give me any tips or tricks related to either of these processes in the soldering of my adapter to my keg.
I come from a long line of brewers and distillers both legal and illegal. Have to do the family name proud
still_stirrin
Master of Distillation
Location: where the buffalo roam, and the deer & antelope play

Re: Soldering

Post by still_stirrin »

Take this to the construction forum. You'll have much to study there before asking.
ss
My LM/VM & Potstill: My build thread
My Cadco hotplate modification thread: Hotplate Build
My stock pot gin still: stock pot potstill
My 5-grain Bourbon recipe: Special K
Danespirit
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by Danespirit »

+1 Still stirrin
The most important tip is: Clean,clean and clean...any grease and the solder won't stick.
A youtube video that might be helpful to you: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gv87yVkyJR0" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow
Another here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LIkvP55UbxM" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow
There are many others, but those two guys do it the right way... and a lot of info if you use HD google search.
kiwi Bruce
Distiller

Post by kiwi Bruce »