VM Head

Post your builds here.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Skookum
Novice

VM Head

Post by Skookum »

Hey all,

Looking for thoughts/opinions on my 2” VM setup. I’m new to this so if you figure that I’m completely off track then let me know!
I’ve got this head sitting on top of about 52” of copper mesh packed column. My 59L keg is heated with a 5500w element with an SCR control and readout.
A22338FA-AF1A-404F-850C-1D93133A9DD1.jpeg
B368CFDF-1F4C-4CB8-BFF1-1E0D1C2DF670.jpeg
BDB65048-7F34-43F1-8CE5-3416E579F2D0.jpeg
Some background on what led me to this setup... I wanted to go VM and when looking for valves I stumbled onto this 2” tri-clamp ball with PTFE seats. I know that generally a smaller valve is recommended, but so far I have pretty fine control of take off rates (in my opinion anyways). However, I had become convinced, based on how my first few runs went, that I had some smearing issues. So, I tapped a hole in the body of the valve and sure enough, I could drain about an ounce out of the valve body between jars. So... instead of constantly (manually) draining hot distillate after every jar, I decided to route the drain down into the packing (the 3/8” tube extends just into the main column).
This gives me a bit of extra reflux from my takeoff vapour and hopefully keeps the valve body from getting any kind of pooling.
I haven’t seen anyone doing a setup quite like this so hoping for some feedback. This whole deal has me thinking of CCVM but I haven’t run this configuration yet, so we’ll see how this works on some Birdwatchers and go from there.

Cheers!
S
OtisT
Master of Distillation

Re: VM Head

Post by OtisT »