Yet another CCVM keg build

Post your builds here.

Moderator: Site Moderator

DevouringRossus
Novice

Yet another CCVM keg build

Post by DevouringRossus »

Hi all,

Mostly been a reader for a fair bit but got COVID, had to isolate, so made an account and advanced my plans to start piecing bits together for a CCVM in my newfound free time. Total newbie so very happy to hear advice, cautions and other whatnots. Also not an engineer so units used are going to jump around wildly.

Here's most of it laid out. It's a bit cobbled together from what I could find and whatever was cheap so there's going to be the odd eccentricity.:
PXL_20220702_003732189_2.jpg
It's the usual flipped 50L keg boiler. I had a DN40 ball valve lying around so just going with a triclamped elbow to the 2inch then into that. Overkill for a drain but it's what I had. Replaced the sili gasket with PTFE that I sanded one side off for the keg-to-contraption mount. So far so good, it's watertight.

Into the keg is going a 3KW low density HWH element I got gifted from a friend that was downsizing - first proper eccentricity right here? It's probably a little underpowered for 50L keg but from what I've read, that mostly relates to the heatup time and it'll manage fine once in the run. The setup is designed for replacing this when I get irritated with not enough power (or adding an extra). Then 4inch fill/cleaning port, 3Inch column port. Weld on some legs. SCR controller for a little extra control.

Column is 3 inch copper in 1x500mm and 1x900mm sections (I amused myself while waiting for parts by cleaning it up but you can see I haven't quite gotten around to the condenser yet).