Best hybrid still

Moderator: Site Moderator

BillPeet
Novice

Best hybrid still

Post by BillPeet »

G'day guys,

Complete noob here looking at building my first still.
My aim is flavoured spirits - whiskey, bourbons, rum etc., however I'm wondering if I need to start with neutral spirits first - is that easier for a beginner?
If so, I'll need some sort of hybrid still, that can run in reflux but also as a proper pot still.

My first question is - am I better off just building a straight pot still, or building a Boka/VM/CCVM style reflux still that can run in pot still mode? Is there any disadvantage in using a reflux still without padding over against a straight pot still?
I like the look of a CCVM as it's basically a pot still that you can add a reflux condenser into if you want to, but I'd be interested in people's thoughts.

Second question - is there any disadvantage in using stainless pipe for everything, rather than copper? I've noticed some bought stills (e.g. T500) have a stainless column, but very few of the DIY ones do.
still_stirrin
Master of Distillation
Location: where the buffalo roam, and the deer & antelope play

Re: Best hybrid still

Post by still_stirrin »

This is my $0.02....build a modular potstill. Got access to a used 1/2 barrel beer keg (Sanke tap)? Then, a 2” potstill is easy to build with reasonably priced materials. And with tri-clover (T/C) joints, you can change configuration and add features easily in the future.

Since flavored spirits are your desire, then why not start with something to do that? Sure, there will be a learning curve to any type of spirit you try to make, so why not gain the experience producing something that you ultimately desire? It is no more complicated (nor less complicated) to make a whiskey or rum than it is to make a vodka....just different.