Just a few questions for the more experienced.

Moderator: Site Moderator

armor99
Site Donor
Site Donor

Just a few questions for the more experienced.

Post by armor99 »

Hello everyone,
I am an engineer by trade, so research and reading is something that comes natural for me when starting a new hobby. I had no idea there would be so very much to learn. But I am enjoying the process. My ultimate goal is to produce a nice Irish Whisky that I and some friends can enjoy. Strangely enough, I do not actually drink much, but needed a hobby, and this will occupy my time, and check the "engineering" boxes that I need. :lol:

I have read lots of posts in the forums, and completely binge watched many of the the "Still IT" series on Youtube (Jesse is really great...) It seems to me that I REALLY need to get all of my ducks in a row before I even consider starting. I am in the process of buying equipment, and right now, I am figuring out in order what I will need, and when to do it. Once you start a mash... you are sorta "on the clock" so to speak. Cannot wait for weeks for "oh I forgot that....part". Below are just some of the things I have been thinking about.

1. I have a 10 Gallon brew/ferment pot from Anvil. Great to be able to do both in one container, less chance for contamination that way.

2. I will be using the BIAB method. I can easily see myself missing the mash temp needed, and having to heat up the kettle again. There is a metal insert I can purchase for the inside of the kettle to keep the bag off the bottom (so would not melt it). Can I leave that inside of the kettle while fermenting? Does that hurt anything, or should I fish it out before pitching the yeast, and sealing the kettle for fermenting.