Cold weather setup

Any hardware used for mashing, fermenting or aging.

Moderator: Site Moderator

NeckStiller
Novice

Cold weather setup

Post by NeckStiller »

Hello all

I'm a newbie with some prior beer experience, but I'm wondering how everyone handles this hobby in the winter. I ferment and distill in an unheated garage so it has been perfect this summer.

I run a couple Lowes buckets for fermenter and a keg still with a column. I'm thinking I need either aquarium heaters for the buckets or possible an old fridge with light bulbs. How large of bulbs should I need? Anyone have picks on their rigs? The only thing I can do for the still is insulate the column and possible preheat the garage to help me get up to temps. Again any rig pics are appreciated. .

Thanks
googe
retired

Re: Cold weather setup

Post by googe »

Depends what part of the world your in and how cold your garage gets in winter?.
Here's to alcohol, the cause of, and solution to, all life's problems.
"Homer J Simpson"
NeckStiller
Novice

Post by NeckStiller »

Googe

I'm in the mid atlantic and the garage could see temps in the low 40s rather quickly. If we have another brutally cold winter we're talking 30s easy.
Ayay
Distiller

Post by Ayay »

Basically any heat source will do. If the source is weak it will run continuously and if it's strong it will cycle on and off if it has a thermostat. An airtight box is as inportant as the insulation. Lights are not the best energy wise unless they are heat lamps.

Here's mine, outside is a digital thermometer, below that a thermostat knob, and to the right is the spyhole (plugged with a white cork) to spy on the pilot light...one day I'll fit the pilot light into the spyhole.
Outside.JPG
Inside, a 120L fermenting barrel, white panel heater 250Watts (sold as a pet heater). The top of the heating cabinet is hinged and flips up for looking inside/feeding/emptying the barrel.
Inside.JPG