Hot Plates

If it plugs in, post it here.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Uter09
Novice

Hot Plates

Post by Uter09 »

Greetings,

I am newer to the distilling world and cant find an answer to my exact question anywhere. I have an 8 gallon milk can pot still from Hillbilly Stills (which I love) and am trying to figure out if this hot plate will work to run my 6 gallon wash?

I have a propane burner, but due to its inconvenience to run at my location (as well as safety) wanted to find another avenue. Also, I know an internal element would work better as well, but I would rather not modify the pot at this time ( I also am very confused after reading countless threads as I am not an electrician by any means).

The hot plate I have is:
Cadco CSR-3T: 120V, 1500 Watts, 12.5 Amps

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
OtisT
Master of Distillation

Re: Hot Plates

Post by OtisT »

Howdy. I think it will work fine if you use a good sized heat sync on top to even out the heat changes due to the on-off cycle. This assumes you have a flat bottom boiler that will make good contact with the plate. Some will tell you to hack the controls and disable the high temp shutoff rather than use a heat sync, but I’ve not done that before and personally would not be comfortable doing so. A proper heat sync takes care of any issues with cycling on-off.

I have a kadco similar to the KR-S2, a pro grade hot plate which is the same wattage/amps but with a cast iron top. I primarily used it with a 10 gallon boiler pan. Takes about 2 hours to bring an 8 gal wash up to first boil at full power. Without a heat sync, I would frequently see 4 degree F fluxiations in vapor temp in the column head. I tried a small (about 1lb) cast iron heat sync bought on amazon that reduced temp swings down to 2 degrees F. With a 3 lb aluminum block I achieved a stable temp with no more temp swings. That 3lb plate is 1/4” thick, and 10” x 10” square.