New Controller

If it plugs in, post it here.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Oldvine Zin
Site Donor
Site Donor

New Controller

Post by Oldvine Zin »

]So after a couple years of using an embarrassing (hey I'm a journeyman electrician) just enough to get by controller built with parts laying around it's time to build a correct one.
controller.JPG
One of the short cuts I took, think that I mentioned it in another post being a know it all you can get 110 vac from 1 hot and ground in a 220 vac system - all good until your 110 volt device shorts to ground, = 110 volts to anything grounded to your system, quite the surprise when you touch the boiler. Please don't do that.

More pics later
NZChris
Master of Distillation

Re: New Controller

Post by NZChris »

I have always had a large earth strap clamped to my boiler so that I don't get any surprises.
Oldvine Zin
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by Oldvine Zin »

Isolated from your controller should be good. Through a missed wired controller not so much

OVZ
Oldvine Zin
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by Oldvine Zin »

Almost got all the parts for my new controller, just waiting for the ground fault circuit breakers to arrive.
controllerbuild1.JPG
Just a simple but safer controller, no fancy "zero's and ones" - straight analog.
One heater control with amp and voltage readout, one 220vac on/off for my cooling pump, and one 110vac on/off for either my cooling fan or mash pump. All three circuits GFIC protected.

OVZ
StillerBoy
Master of Distillation

Post by StillerBoy »

Oldvine.. are you going to use two potentiometer with your ssr, while you are at it..

Two potentiometer give you better control, one 47K and another 470K, so that you are about to fine tune the heat input..

Mars
" I know quite certainly that I myself have no special talent. Curiosity, Obsession and dogged endurance, combined with self-criticism, have brought me to my knowledge and understanding "

– Albert Einstein
Oldvine Zin
Site Donor
Site Donor