Inverted keg drain options

In our view 30 gallons and under is considered hobby size. Do not bring anything larger than this to our site.

Moderator: Site Moderator

no_no_no
Novice

Inverted keg drain options

Post by no_no_no »

Hello everyone,

Starting my first build and planning to use an inverted keg as my boiler. I intend to use the sanke fitting (now on the bottom) to drain the boiler. Since I have never done this before, I wanted to validate some assumptions and see if anyone has a better way to do this.

As I understand it, I can remove the central spear from the keg, leaving just a 2 inch flat fitting. Then I can use a 2 inch PTFE tri-clamp gasket (flat on one side) and a tri-clamp to connect up my piping. The boiler will have leveling feet welded on so I should have plenty of room on the bottom for the piping. Good so far?

Next question is what is the most cost effective way to do this. I was thinking:
Sanke => 2" gasket => 2" tri-clamp x 1" NPT => 90 degree elbow => 1" ball valve

Here is my parts list:
  • PTFE gasket ($4)
  • 2 inch tri-clamp ($7)
  • 2 inch stainless tri-clamp x 1 inch NPT ($20)
  • 1 inch stainless elbow ($9)
  • 1 inch stainless ball valve ($12)
$52

Obvious pitfalls? Alternatives to consider?

Thank you in advance for the feedback!
Deplorable
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: Inverted keg drain options

Post by Deplorable »

The only thing I dont like about inverting the keg and using the fitting for a drain, is that you are committed, always and forever, to running electric.
Adding a drain on the side and leaving the top of the keg the top, You have the option to run an external heat source (propane).
Fear and ridicule are the tactics of weak-minded cowards and tyrants who have no other leadership talent from which to draw in order to persuade.
StillerBoy
Master of Distillation

Post by StillerBoy »

What your intention for the top part.. which you have not stated on...

Mars