The simplest steam setup?

Steam powered cooking and distillation devices.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Demy
Master of Distillation

The simplest steam setup?

Post by Demy »

I have no experience with steam distillation. There are distilleries that use steam for their grappa. I've seen some projects here but I operate on a small scale and it's not really worth building complicated steam generators. The question is: a setup with a 20-liter kettle of boiling water, connected at the bottom to a pot filled with skins and equipped with column would work? Direct steam, without valves, second pot equal in volume to the first. Once I did a test out of curiosity and the steam got to the second pot condenses naturally and this made me think that the second pot should fill up a bit before it works, considerations on this? Thank you all.
Correct image
Immagine.png
Last edited by Demy on Tue Sep 22, 2020 8:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
seabass
Rumrunner

Re: The simplest steam setup?

Post by seabass »

The only issue with that diagram is that there connection is below the water line. That be boiling water, not steam going into the pot.

I think a thumper is the simplest way to inject steam. It's basically what you drew just coming out of the top of the boiler and down into the bottom of the pot.
Demy
Master of Distillation

Post by Demy »

seabass wrote: Tue Sep 22, 2020 7:58 am The only issue with that diagram is that there connection is below the water line. That be boiling water, not steam going into the pot.

I think a thumper is the simplest way to inject steam. It's basically what you drew just coming out of the top of the boiler and down into the bottom of the pot.
How stupid, I made a mistake I wanted to draw it as you said! I will try to correct it.
jonnys_spirit
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by jonnys_spirit »

Either that or going into the top of the thumper pot instead of the side.