Lemon essential oil

All things related to oils and Hydrosols. How to make them and their uses.

Moderator: Site Moderator

JellybeanCorncob
Site Donor
Site Donor

Lemon essential oil

Post by JellybeanCorncob »

I’m kind of new to extracting essential oils from plants but this is my first success. My rosemary produced little oil but that’s a different story. My sister has been playing around with different extracts (store bought). Mostly she uses them in diffusers for aroma therapy. She also has me making vanilla extract with my nuteral spirits.
So I have a Meyer lemon tree that is loaded with lemons. And yes I make Lemoncello with the lemons also. I’ve dedicated my 3gal copper still for making essential oils.
41518517-2BEA-4227-A240-372EF89E71CA.jpeg
We picked and zested around 60 lemons.
We saved the juce for lemonade
We saved the juce for lemonade
Then I put the zest right in the boiler with RO water.
I brought the heat up to a boil then backed the heat down to a slow boil like you would cook pasta in. Lo and behold lemon extract was building up on top of the hydrosol.
EF212DE0-6079-4B16-A3EC-DBC08904E17F.jpeg
I ran the still for about 45 minuets.

The result was about 8ml of Pretty damn pure lemon oil.
Lemon oil on top/ hydrosol below
Lemon oil on top/ hydrosol below
5ml bottles
5ml bottles
All in all I consider this a success.
Next time my sister is over we’re going to try making peppermint oil with the mint that is growing like weeds all over my yard.
JBC
JBC
Bushman
Admin

Re: Lemon essential oil

Post by Bushman »

Congratulations, where did you get your collection vessel? Looks like something I would like to add to my equipment. I am guessing you drained the water from the bottom keeping the oil in the vessel. We can get large bags of lemons at Costco to zest then use the lemons for other purposes. Thanks for sharing the post.
JellybeanCorncob
Site Donor
Site Donor