Barley Malt Syrup

Sugar, and all about sugar washes. Where the primary ingredient is sugar, and other things are just used as nutrients.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Noobtoob
Novice

Barley Malt Syrup

Post by Noobtoob »

So I looked and googled and could not ind...

Can this be used to enhance flavor?

I'm a complete beginner and I'm looking at odins kellog recipe and wondered wether I could achieve some barley flavor in the mix by using barley malt syrup substituted for some of the sugars? Does the flavor come through?
Prairiepiss
retired

Re: Barley Malt Syrup

Post by Prairiepiss »

Barley malt syrup? Sounds like liquid malt extract. Which is just condensed barley malt wort. And what many homebrewers use to make beer. When not doing all grain.

Need to make sure it doesn't have hops. Or hasn't been hopped.

Where are you finding it at. You don't see it much in regular stores in my parts.

Even if its not LME. It should still work. It would more then likely be made just like LME. And possibly made by the same company.

It should work fine for you. Bit if you post a link to it. We could have a better look at it.
It'snotsocoldnow.

Advice For newbies by a newbie.
CM Still Mods
My Stuffs
Fu Man

Mr. Piss
That's Princess Piss to the haters.
Jimbo
retired

Post by Jimbo »

http://morebeer.com/category/liquid-malt-extract.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow

Sure works great. I made a whiskey once with all LME. Turned out fine. Its maltose, and its 100% barley. Id encourage everyone to use it in place of refined table sugar.
In theory there's no difference between theory and practice. But in practice there is.
My Bourbon and Single Malt recipes. Apple Stuff and Electric Conversion
Prairiepiss
retired

Post by Prairiepiss »

I think hr is talking more like this? http://www.edenfoods.com/store/product_ ... _id=104050" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" rel="nofollow