Pot Still Vapor Temperature

Other discussions for folks new to the wonderful craft of home distilling.

Moderator: Site Moderator

ParrotHead
Novice

Pot Still Vapor Temperature

Post by ParrotHead »

Hi Everyone,

Note: My thermometer is in Celcius and is located in the swan neck, 8 gallon alembic pot, running 5.5 gallon batches of wash. I have done a lot of research on the internet and read a lot of books. I am a scientist by training and have been fermenting everything and anything since I was still wet behind the ears. I know that most of you will tell me to not rely on vapor temp and ABV, and even ABV more than vapor temp. That's fine and I have nailed down the taste and smell thing for making cuts with making rum, not an issue, I get, I smell it, I make clean product based on nose alone. The variability I have run into is with apple brandy.

Let me back up . . . the one thing I find distracting in all of the literature is the agreement on the pot still vapor temperature of the head to hearts transition. I think the most reliable that I have read from many sources including Rick Morris's book, "The Joy of Home Distilling" is that clean hearts starts around 91 degrees C or anything below 80% ABV (Problem here is that I have never seen 80% ABV coming off my pot still unless its foreshots or strong heads). I also typically do not measure ABV until I know I'm into hearts and hook up my tubing and parrot.

Other online documents say that 87.8 degrees C (190 deg F) is where hearts begins. I have a new Bourbon making book that does all the keeper cuts starting at 83 deg C using a pot still ! Based on my pot still this would expose you to methanol and definitely a bad headache if not worse. Based on what I have seen thus far, 80-83 deg C is where heads really starts flowing. So WTF?