Yield

All styles of whiskey. This is for all-grain mashes.

Moderator: Site Moderator

wpkluck
Swill Maker

Yield

Post by wpkluck »

There is a lot on yield, I was surprised there wasn't a separate topic about it. I'm new to the craft, but as an engineer, I'm intrigued by how easy this hobby is to get started, and how complex it will be to perfect (if ever!).

As an engineer, all we have is math, and practice. My math can be wrong, but as engineers, we always put it out there for review. Be kind, be brutal - I'm just having a great time with my new passion (and, of course, your mileage may vary...).

After a few initial runs (I'm surprised how good even these have been), I've now set the goal of putting up/aging 5 gallons of sour mash (using the UJSSM recipe). I'm mashing in now. One of the great benefits of this hobby is that there is plenty of time between process steps (runs), which we engineers typically use to learn and analyze. Here is the theory I'm going to be testing (some info from research, other from the results I got from my earlier runs):

1st ferment: My first wash appears to have produced 10% alcohol, and my 5 gallons now looks like 4 gallons (grain/mash tax? LOL!). So I figure I have .4 gal of actual alcohol in my still charge.

1st distillation (stripping run): I'm going to do a stripping run, without my thumper, and expect this 4 gal to produce 1.5 gal of 25% ABV (based on my previous runs). This first stripping run (all of it) goes into my next charge.

(Yes, this is my experience, but there is a great online calculator at https://americanhomedistillers.com/dist ... alculator/ which gives similar numbers.)

2nd ferment: After ferment, I add the 1.5 gal from the first (stripping) run, which should now be 5.5 gallons (the 4 gal from the second fermentation at 10%, plus the 1.5 gal from the 1st stripping run at 25% ABV).