Help With Design

Other discussions for folks new to the wonderful craft of home distilling.

Moderator: Site Moderator

Hebden
Site Donor
Site Donor

Help With Design

Post by Hebden »

Modular 3 inch Compound Still with Reflux Coil and Graham Condenser.jpg
Hi Guys,

(please bear in mind I am very much an absolute beginner and new to the distilling game)

I hope you don't mind me posting again, I have been deep in research recently after being told to read The Compleat Distillers Guide, which I am a good part way through, which has got me to where I am making this post as I want to start the boiler build as I continue research.

That same advisor said that I should build a modular keg and the column should be 3" (or 4") in case I ever wished to upscale production, then I would already be part way.

So, after lots of researching I have decided that would not be impossible for me to manufacture the still pictured and I believe it would be versatile enough being modular in design so as to use as a simpler fractioning still or pot still if I ever wanted.

At this stage, I would just like a little advise as the book and the mathematics and my lack of practical experience are a but limiting to me.

1) Can my 5.5kW ULWD element cope ok with this setup and vice versa?

My keg needs the original attachment cutting off, the manufacturer has made it impossible to remove without cutting.

2) With that being the case, I have purchased both 2" and 3" Tri-Clamp Ferrules to choose to weld to the keg. If the original question is a YES, then I suppose I need to install the 3" collar don't I?
zapata
Distiller

Re: Help With Design

Post by zapata »

Hebden wrote: Tue Mar 15, 2022 10:32 am That same advisor said that I should build a modular keg and the column should be 3" (or 4") in case I ever wished to upscale production, then I would already be part way.