Column height vs. packing

Other discussions for folks new to the wonderful craft of home distilling.

Moderator: Site Moderator

rockymars
Novice

Column height vs. packing

Post by rockymars »

Hey all,

A total noob question about column height to achieve azeo.

I’m planning to build a modular 2” CCVM still using tri clamp sections, Meccano style.

I’m aware that the column height is quoted in a range of 1:15-1:24 of column diameter. If I push it to the limit, let’s say I make my column height 48”/1.22m.

Now I’m just a bit confused by something. Is this the height to achieve azeo without packing? Or so I need to add packing too.
VEVOR 3-pot still... complete waste of money
35L Digiboil with DIBOSH 2” CM still
RC Al
Swill Maker

Re: Column height vs. packing

Post by RC Al »

Yes you need packing
Probably some more reading too :)
Saltbush Bill
Site Mod

Post by Saltbush Bill »

Agree with the above by RC.....if you dont know that much then you need to read ? research more.
Lets be blunt ........you got a shit load of readin and learnin to do.
Renhoekk
Swill Maker

Post by Renhoekk »

You will need packing and also a pre-condenser (dephlegmator). And you need enough height to let the packing do its job.

Each plate in a reflux column essentially carries out a mini-distillation. As the vapour moves up the column, it goes through a sequence of vaporising, re-condensing and vaporising again on the plates. And with each mini-distillation, more water drops down the column and a higher proof of ethanol goes up the column.

The packing replaces the function of the plates, in that it provides surface area for the rising vapor to go through cycles of condensing and vaporising.

The pre-condenser helps you control the rate of reflux by sending some or all of the vapor back down the column as liquid, to continue being separated/enriched.