Spirit run in Air Still

Other discussions for folks new to the wonderful craft of home distilling.

Moderator: Site Moderator

spook100
Novice

Spirit run in Air Still

Post by spook100 »

Hi

I am new to the hobby and have a 4 litre air still from Still Spirits. I have read through several topics on this forum that talk around doing a spirit run after the initial stripping run. The consensus seems to be that you combine the product from several stripping runs, dilute to 40%, and then do the spirit run. However, the manual that came with the still says to dilute down to 12% to do the spirit run and I am trying to understand the discrepancy. The only reason that I can think of to dilute down to 12% is that the unit has a fixed power output ad the boiling point of a 40% solution is lower than that of a 12% solution so it would run tooo fast. Is that correct and, if so, does it matter much? Are their any other reasons that they would recommend 12%?

Thanks!
Sporacle
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: Spirit run in Air Still

Post by Sporacle »

Use the search function, chuck in air still + spirit run and you'll get a heap of info.
Plus go right to the bottom of this page and have a look at the required reading, heaps of good info there as well
" you can pick your nose and you can pick your friends; but you can't always wipe your friends off on your saddle" sage advice from Kinky Friedman
Yummyrum
Global moderator

Post by Yummyrum »

In most cases , the final combined AVB of a stripping run is usually less than 40% and often closer to 30% , so unless you are striping a turbo or stopping short , you normally never need to dilute down to 40% abv .... Which incidentally is just a suggested safe maximum to go into a boiler . Less is fine . Lower will help with the tails seperation .
To be honest I have no idea why they would suggest 12% abv boiler charge for a spirit run ..... Mind you , I would query a lot of instruction that they include
Saltbush Bill
Site Mod