Hi everyone

New to distillation, or simply new to the HD forums.
** Your first post MUST go here. Introduce yourself and tell us a bit about your interest in distilling. Any posts asking distilling questions will be deleted. **

Moderator: Site Moderator

Funstuff
Novice

Hi everyone

Post by Funstuff »

I am a newbie distiller from Tasmania, Oz.
I have a 60l kettle with home made modular head still on it. Head is 2" that can be run in pot mode, or reflux. Reflux is via a packed column (has been copper mesh - now about to try SPPs) and vapour management condenser head.
I also have a 12l kettle on order (will run my existing 2" parts as needed for small runs distillation of single essences such as coffee etc for making coffee liqueur/Cointreau etc in smaller batches).
I have some experience fermenting - sauerkraut/veggies/kimchi/kombucha/sourdough/beer etc. Distilling however, is a whole new game.
So far have made plenty of neutrals (intended for gin/ouzo/Cointreau/coffee liqueur etc), also some plum slivovitz that is now a year old and maturing nicely. Have just started making black strap molasses rum.
I love Japanese shochu (their style of vodka) and am very keen to make this when sweet potatoes are in season and cheap. I grow a range of fruit, including yuzu citrus and Japanese plum/apricots - ume - for making umeshu. Calvados and poire (French style pear brandy) are also high on the list for next fruit season. Hopefully gin made with yuzu is also on the list!
Yummyrum
Global moderator

Re: Hi everyone

Post by Yummyrum »

Welcome Funstuff
I'm quite interested in your Ume plums . Me and the Mrs are quite fond of Umeshu .
I'm guessing that Tazzy has a similar climate to Japan and maybe they are more suited to your area . We're in MNC NSW and it's semi tropics . Who knows .

Anyway , start a topic on it if you want . Sounds really interesting .
Funstuff
Novice

Post by Funstuff »