Rookie Moonshiner

New to distillation, or simply new to the HD forums.
** Your first post MUST go here. Introduce yourself and tell us a bit about your interest in distilling. Any posts asking distilling questions will be deleted. **

Moderator: Site Moderator

oldmonk
Novice

Rookie Moonshiner

Post by oldmonk »

I am a rookie moonshiner from South East Asia. I have done couple dozens of batches of Jaggery and Sugar Washes. Have referred to this site since last few years. Thought of joining the forum so that I can interact two ways. Contribute where I can and learn where I can.

I have a 20 liter copper alembic pot still, hand made by a local smith.

I guess it's time to learn and try new recipes and clear a few of my flavoring doubts.
greggn
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: Rookie Moonshiner

Post by greggn »

oldmonk wrote: Sat Nov 26, 2022 2:24 pm I am a rookie moonshiner from South East Asia.
Welcome to HD !

I'll be interested in hearing of some of the local ingredients you have available.

I drank fifty pounds of feed-store corn
'till my clothes were ratty and torn
oldmonk
Novice

Post by oldmonk »

greggn wrote: Sat Nov 26, 2022 5:51 pm
oldmonk wrote: Sat Nov 26, 2022 2:24 pm I am a rookie moonshiner from South East Asia.
Welcome to HD !

I'll be interested in hearing of some of the local ingredients you have available.
Base spirits are fun here, almost all types of grains are available dirt cheap, except a few like Rye. But most of the grains are not graded, cant differentiate between two row barley and four row barley from distillation perspective.

Sugars are available full spectrum, cane juice, concentrated unfiltered cane juice (Jaggery), brown cane sugar, and table sugar, again, affordable. Forest honey is easy to find too.