Glazing honey/sugar mix

Sugar, and all about sugar washes. Where the primary ingredient is sugar, and other things are just used as nutrients.

Moderator: Site Moderator

MooseMan
Site Donor
Site Donor

Glazing honey/sugar mix

Post by MooseMan »

I have a question that I'm hoping those who have more experience than me can answer.

I have a pretty large volume of a honey/sugar mix that was meant for glazing hams. I'm talking over 20x 5L buckets.
It's basically 70% honey and the rest is a mix of sugars with some very dark "Burnt sugar" that makes it all look like molasses and gives it a slightly bitter taste but not like molasses or treacle. It's just got a very strong taste.

I've been using it for a couple of years in my stouts as it goes well with the flavours, but I'll never use it all so I thought I may as well try making some neutral with it.

So to my question, if I was to ferment it to approx 10%, then strip it, then combine and run the strips through my CCVM, would I get a totally clean neutral do you guys think?
Or if it's not that simple, is there anything I can do to help this along?

Any and all suggestions welcome.

And I'm sure someone will mention Rum, yes I may give that a try but I'm not really a fan of the stuff.
Make Booze, not War!
squigglefunk
Trainee

Re: Glazing honey/sugar mix

Post by squigglefunk »

sounds delicious, I wouldn't make neutral from it but I really don't make neutral so there is that.

So yes, I am going to say a rumish type thing is what you should make
Knife_man
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post by Knife_man »

squigglefunk wrote: Thu Jan 26, 2023 9:40 am sounds delicious, I wouldn't make neutral from it but I really don't make neutral so there is that.

I second that .... I would do a pot still run first and see if you like it.if you don't throw it through the column.

Can't comment if you'll be able to strip it down to a neutral but would defiantly recomend you try it pot stilled first.
MooseMan
Site Donor
Site Donor