filtering solids with home water filter

Production methods from starch to sugars.

Moderator: Site Moderator

ethanol_eth
Novice

filtering solids with home water filter

Post by ethanol_eth »

Hello, I'm new to distilling and have been fermenting some potato mash for distillation. After fermentation I used a brew bag that I think was around 200 micron filtration and the resulting product was very cloudy. I distilled anyway and noticed that the internal heating element in my still collected particles and burnt it on the element to a thick shell I had to remove afterwards. Obviously this is not good for the product, bad flavors imparted.

I was thinking about trying to hook up a home water filtration system and pressurizing a tank with the mash in it to push the mash out through the filter. I am thinking of a standard 10" sediment and particulate filter that has 20 micron filtration. They are very inexpensive at the home improvement store. I read that potato starches run about twice this size so it should be adequate. My fear is that it will clog long before I am able to get 5 gallons through it, and maybe clog so fast that it isn't practical. The filters are cheap and so if I had to go through a couple per 5 gallons, not a big deal. Anyone try something like this?

Thanks for any thoughts!
acfixer69
Global moderator

Re: filtering solids with home water filter

Post by acfixer69 »

Go to a steam stripper for the most efficiency but I wouldn't be fermenting spuds that's just me.
NZChris
Master of Distillation

Post by NZChris »

If there was still starch is the wash, it would burn even if it was filtered.

How did you convert the starch?

Did you do a starch test before distilling?
Saltbush Bill
Site Mod

Post by Saltbush Bill »

There are a number of reasons that 99% of the worlds vodka is not made from potatoes, You've just found one of them.
This is the short list of potato based spirits......there are better ones out there from memory.