QD water connections

Anything cooling/condenser related.

Moderator: Site Moderator

300bosup
Novice

QD water connections

Post by 300bosup »

Has anyone come up with a good quick detach water line set up for the MH dual purpose still? The pc and rc both have 1/2” OD stainless nipples. I have been using hose clamps for several years with no issues other than hoses trying to bend and kink. I am currently building a keg boiler for stripping/plate runs and i would like to be able to use the same water lines without having to mess with hose clamps
NormandieStill
Site Donor
Site Donor

Re: QD water connections

Post by NormandieStill »

Not personal experience but I've seen someone put short stubs of tube with adapters on the end to hozelock or some other quick release.
"I have a potstill that smears like a fresh plowed coon on the highway" - Jimbo

A little spoon feeding *For New & Novice Distillers
Salt Must Flow
Distiller

Post by Salt Must Flow »

How are you supplying water to the still? Are you using your tap water or are you recirculating water with a pump?
300bosup
Novice

Post by 300bosup »

I recirculate using a pond pump and a 55 gallon barrel. I have a y with shut off valves on the feed side and a needle valve for the rc. Output side of both condensers have independent lines going back to the barrel
Salt Must Flow
Distiller

Post by Salt Must Flow »

Here's a page that shows a variety of Camlok Quick Disconnect fittings. The Camlock with barbed ends looks like the most convenient option. There's other places to buy these, even from China.

In a lot of cases the 90 elbow Camlok would be ideal so that the hoses hang straight down so they won't kink.
Salt Must Flow
Distiller

Post by Salt Must Flow »

A MUCH less expensive option would be to use these fittings. You can unscrew them without using tools so they're kinda "quick disconnect".

PEX Quick Elbow.jpg