Advice- For newbies, by a newbie

Putting older posts here. Going to try to keep the novice forum pruned about 90 days work. The 'good' old stuff is going to be put into appropriate forums.

Moderator: Site Moderator

nevadadrifter
Novice

Advice- For newbies, by a newbie

Post by nevadadrifter »

Well it's all falling into place! My first still has been built, and I have my first run under my belt. Granted, it's just a cleaning run, but my first all bran is finishing up in my bathroom right now, and should be ready to run next week sometime. I am an utter and complete newbie. I just wanted to make that clear before I come along and start handing out advice. With that out of the way, I wanted to list a few things that would have made my life much easier, if I had know them when I first visited the HD forum. My hope is that this information will make life easier for a few more rookies somewhere down the road.

It might be a little long winded, so please bare with me.

#1. Read, read, read.....Then read some more- This was by far the biggest challenge for me to overcome. I was looking for a hobby that I could pick up over the course of a weekend, and be up and running with. What I found, was a hobby that required months of research before I ever mixed my first ferment. Sure, I suppose it is possibly to be up and running in just a few days, but I can say with 100% certainty, that if I had attempted to do so, I would have build an inferior still, making inferior and more importantly potentially hazardous product. Now, I will certainly be making an inferior product for quite some time, when compared to others around here, but now I know that what I'm making is safe. My technique will only improve with time.